top of page
  • Writer's picture#Triggered

Hannah Willems (17) on 'Skins': “I thought every teenager was supposed to do drugs to be cool”

TW – drug abuse


Hannah Willems from Hasselt, Belgium, started watching Skins when she was 13-years old. The show exposed her to images of teenagers, only slightly older than her, doing drugs and partying all night. As a coming of age teenager, she was convinced that’s what every teenager was expected to do: “I thought it was normal that every character did tons of drugs.”

Hannah's views on teenage life were deeply affected by Skins.


You may know Skins from our previous testimonial about the show. Skins (2007-2013) was a British teen drama show that followed a group of teenagers through their life experiences. It dealt with subjects like depression, eating disorders, drug abuse, and death.


“I was in my second year of secondary school when I learned about Skins. I didn’t know what it was about, only that it was about teenagers. I quickly binged the show because I was so hooked on the characters and their stories.”


By not taking breaks within every episode, Hannah got drawn into the world of the Bristolian teens. Sex, drugs, and partying were normal things for them. Although we later on in the show see quite a few of the bad consequences of drug abuse, season 1 and 2 definitely glamourised recreational drugs and even addiction.

A typical skins party

“They made it look like so much fun. A true party in Skins was never complete without drugs. I thought that’s what all parties were like. It was just a part of being a teenager.”


The typical Skins parties got so infamous within UK teens, that it became an actual term. The Urban Dictionary describes a skins party as a huge party that usually involves large amounts of drugs, alcohol, sex, and loud music. After a skins party, the guests wake up in somebody else’s house or garden completely disorientated, naked and covered in vomit, pee or blood. If you still can't imagine a typical skins party, just look at the trailer for the first season.

Hannah explains, “I’ve always been a very quiet person and I didn’t talk to anyone. I didn’t know what everyone my age was doing. Skins made it seem as if it was cool and normal for teenagers to do tons of drugs. So, I thought I was supposed to do that as well to be cool.”


Hannah is convinced the show romanticised drug abuse: “It feels like the writers were encouraging their behaviour. In one scene they all do mushrooms and it seems like they’re experiencing the time of their lives. They do ecstasy almost every other day. The writers treat it as a fun recreational drug or a drug like weed.”

“Everybody had to have a problem; as if having a mental illness made you a better person.”

Hannah vs. the rest of the world The show pushes the idea that mentally damaged people are more interesting, appealing and cool than “normal” people. Every single character had problems and while that does make for more interesting characters and storylines, it pushes the idea that without a mental illness, you’re not interesting enough: “Everybody had to have a problem as if having a mental illness made you a better person. It created this kind of “Us vs. Them” mentality in my head. I wanted to be interesting and special too.”


After watching Skins, Hannah started hiding from her friends and family: “I fought a lot with my parents because, in my head, I was a rebel. I couldn’t talk to my friends about it either, because I ignored them as well. Eventually, I didn’t have any friends left.”


Hannah continues, “I remember crying all Christmas Day because I was being very shitty to my parents. I felt so awful for treating them that way, but I couldn’t help it.”


Everybody is different Although it shows a romanticised view of mental illnesses, it was one of the first shows Hannah saw about topics like mental health. While for most, this may cause some sense of solidarity, for Hannah it stopped her from seeking help: “I thought it meant that I was normal and didn’t need to fix myself. It was just a thing I had to go through on my own.”


“I felt bad for about a year after watching the show. I didn’t develop a drug addiction or an eating disorder, but I did lose many friends because of it. It didn’t cause anything, but it pushed me towards a worse mental health.”


“I’m doing fine now. I’m still quiet, but I’ve realised being a teenager is different for everybody. It’s not at all like in Skins for me. I know that now.”


If you have any questions regarding drugs or alcohol, please go to druglijn.be for Belgium or contact your country's drug hotline.

If you ever think about suicide or self-harm, and are in need of a conversation, then you can always contact the Suicide Hotline on the number 1813 or www.zelfmoord1813.be for Belgium. For international helplines, please click this link.


Text: Femke Lippens

Featured image: © Femke Lippens

233 views0 comments
bottom of page